2017-18 Falcon Student-Athletes Honored in 4th Annual Athletic Awards Night

2017-18 Falcon Student-Athletes Honored in 4th Annual Athletic Awards Night

The Folsom Lake College athletic department honored their 2017-18 outstanding student athletes and teams Wednesday night during the 4th annual Athletic Awards Night at the Harris Center Stage Two.  Dean/Athletic Director Matt Wright emceed the hour-long event, which included recognition of the 30+ student-athletes who have signed National Letters of Intent, the 2018 graduating student-athletes, the Scholar Athletes (3.0 GPA or better in-season), the Big 8 All-Conference and regional/state/national award winners, and the athletic department's featured awards: the Scholar Team Award, the Fighting Falcon Award, the Male & Female Athlete of the Year, and finally, the  Bruce Werner "Falcon of the Year" Award.    Also highlighted was the "Year in Pictures" slide show/video with action and candid photos of athletes from all ten FLC sports teams.


The featured award winners:

(all photos courtesy of Doug Guler/BlueHat Photography)

The 2017-18 Scholar Team Award went to the Women's Basketball team with a cumulative in-season GPA of 3.5. 

(l-r): Alma Perez, Myranda Bezak, Angelina Contreras, Abby Malekos, Nicole Ayala, Megan Macheel, Faith Wilson


         Fighting Falcon Award:  Emma Flewell (women's volleyball)

 After a stellar freshman season as middle blocker on the inaugural FLC volleyball team, Emma sustained a gruesome complete dislocation of her ankle in late spring, putting her 2018 sophomore season in serious doubt.  It wasn't until summer that Emma could actually begin to rehabilitate her ankle, but she persevered through the painful process.  Against all odds, Emma's hard work and determination paid off as she eventually worked her way back into the Falcons' starting lineup.  At season's end, she was 2nd in the Big 8 in blocks and one of the key reasons the Falcons advanced to the state final eight in just their second year.  Emma earned a 3.77 GPA at FLC, and will take her enthusiasm and positive energy to Humboldt State to continue her volleyball career while majoring in Environmental Science.


            Male Athlete of the Year:  Luis Aguilar (men's soccer) 

Luis earned Big 8 Conference "Midfielder of the Year" while helping lead the Falcons to their first ever Big 8 Conference championship in men's soccer.  Luis tallied 10 goals and 6 assists in 2017 as he led the Falcons to a CCCAA state playoff berth, the first in program history.  Luis has accepted a scholarship to continue his education and collegiate soccer career at Southern Oregon University.


Female Athlete(s) of the Year:  co-winners Kylie Haverson (women's volleyball) and Andrea Martinez (women's soccer)

 Kylie was a two-time Big 8 all-conference award winner as an outside hitter for the Falcons.  In 2017, she recorded 429 kills, ranking her 5th in the state and 2nd in the Big 8 Conference.  She also had 57 service aces and 365 total digs.  Kylie leaves FLC with a 3.62 GPA and will attend BYU in the fall, hoping to earn a spot on the volleyball team as a walk-on.

 Andrea was named the 2017 Big 8 Conference Most Valuable Player.  In addition,  she was named to the United Soccer Coaches Association of America's West Region team and 1st Team All-American.  Andrea has the most career points in the history of FLC women's soccer.    In 2017, Andrea scored 25 goals and recorded 14 assists for a total of 64 points.   Andrea earned a full scholarship to play at NCAA Division I Grand Canyon University in fall 2018.


Bruce Werner "Falcon of the Year":  Brittney Johnson (women's soccer) 

Brittney is the quintessential all-everything!  Not only was she a key component of the Big 8 champion (and state Final Four) women's soccer team, she has maintained a 4.0 GPA as a Social and Behavioral Science major while at FLC.  Brittney also sat on a hiring committee at FLC as a student-athlete representative, and volunteers her time off-campus to organize and instruct fitness camps for senior citizens.  In 2017, Britney scored 8 goals and added 6 assists and was named to  United Soccer Coaches Association of America's scholar All American Team.  She was named the 2017 National Scholar Player of the Year. 


 The Falcons' 2017-18 "Year in Pictures" slide show/video can be seen here: 


 Congratulations to all the Falcon student-athletes – not just the award winners mentioned here - who have sacrificed much of their time and energy in order to wear the Teal and Black!  You have made us proud….